Skip to product information
1 of 2

Surf Friends

Surf Friends - Sonic Waves

Regular price $23.00 AUD
Regular price Sale price $23.00 AUD
Sale Sold out

Indie two-piece Surf Friends make their welcome return with the announcement of their first full-length project in almost four years - Sonic Waves, via Flying Nun Records. The record sees the duo of Brad Coley and Peter Westmoreland joining forces with long-time producer, Mark Howden, to take on new musical directions, whilst retaining their dreamy psych-surf energy that put them on the musical map all the way back in 2009, when they debuted their self-titled EP. 

The album was mostly written and recorded between 2019-2021, and is their first full length release since their hypnotic 2019 offering, Doing Your Thing

Sonic Waves will be available digitally as well as on CD on March 17, 2023 via Flying Nun Records.


  1. Whirling Hiss 
  2. Dreaming
  3. Good Thing
  4. Signal On
  5. Something Real
  6. Woohoo
  7. Times What We Want
  8. Play Your Show
  9. For Today
  10. Sonic

For a duo, Surf Friends sure know how to make an impressive amount of noise. The Auckland/Tāmaki-Makaurau-based two-piece, made up of Brad Coley (guitar, vocals, keys, harmonica, drum machine) and Peter Westmoreland (bass, keys, vocals), formed in 2009. Drawing inspirations from the jangle-pop of early Flying Nun bands such as The Clean, Surf Friends defined their distinct psych-surf and post-punk sound, using driving guitars, drum machines and synths loops to create a visceral, solar-powered wash of sound. Their 2010 debut album, Confusion, gained worldwide attention, Pitchfork praising their “off-the-cuff brilliance”. Over their almost fourteen-year career, they have performed and collaborated with the likes of Hamish and David Kilgour (The Clean), Nick Roughan (The Skeptics), The Black Watch and Snapper and have performed at festivals such as The Others Way, Psych Fest and Field Of Dreams.