Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Courtneys

The Courtneys - The Courtneys

Regular price $39.00 AUD
Regular price $0.00 AUD Sale price $39.00 AUD
Sale Sold out
FN588 (2017)

Vancouver three-piece The Courtneys' excellent 2013 self-titled debut reissued on Flying Nun Records.  Consistently propelling itself forward, this collection of eight songs is drenched in summer hooks propelled by fuzzed out guitars and vocals that are both nonchalant and introspective. Relatable topics such as money, romance, and sci fi are coupled with a lo-fi urgency that doesn’t outstay it’s welcome.

Though inspired by classic Flying Nun and C86 era bands, as well as Teenage Fanclub, Pavement, and Eddy Current Suppression Ring, The Courtneys’ sound is not tied to one single era. A penchant for pop craft collides with the trio’s underlying punk aesthetic, resulting in slacker rock that’s at once sweet and subtle. The songs are the result of a passionate collaborative songwriting process that combines drummer/lead singer Jen Twynn Payne's (Cute Courtney) heartfelt lyrics, which are delivered with a powerful vocal style, Courtney Loove's (Classic Courtney) dreamy power-pop inspired guitar riffs, and Sydney Koke's (Crazy Courtney) driving basslines.

It is clear to hear why The Courtneys felt at home in New Zealand when they first toured there in the summer of 2015 and joined the Flying Nun roster. Their commitment to the fine balance of pop and idiosyncratic indie guitar music finds lineage between The Clean, Look Blue Go Purple, The Bats while diving deeper into the fuzzy world of the likes of Bailterspace.

Track List:

  1. Nu Sundae
  2. Manion
  3. Insufficient Funds
  4. 90210
  5. Delivery Boy
  6. K.C. Reeves
  7. Dead Dog
  8. Social Anxiety